Dog tags are now available Dogs need to be registered before 02/01/2024 $6 for fixed and $11 for unfixed Dogs aged 6 months and older need to be registered Any dogs registered after 01/31/2023 will receive an additional $25 late fee
What is needed to license my dog? Current rabies certificate Veterinarian's name and phone number Proof of spay or neuter (if your dog has been "fixed")
Frequently Asked Questions
When does my dog need to be licensed?
Maine State Law Title 7, Chapter 721 requires that dogs be licensed upon reaching the age of 6 months or after it has been with the family for 10 days if adopted. The yearly renewal deadline is December 31st.
Where does my dog need to be licensed?
Dogs need to be licensed in the town of residence.
What is the cost to license my dog?
For an "altered" or "fixed" dog the cost is $6.00. For a dog that is not "altered" the cost is $11.00.
What should I do if my dog loses its tag and it's not time to renew the license?
You will need to obtain a new tag from your Town Office.
What if I need a special license?
If you are licensing a wolf hybrid, service / search or rescue dog or need to obtain a kennel license, please contact the Town office.
Can a dog run "at large" in the state of Maine?
It is unlawful for any dog to run at large except when it is used for hunting. "At large" means off premises of the owner and not under control of any person.
What does my dog license pay for? - Local Animal Control Officers and District Humane Agents - The investigation of animal cruelty complaints and enforcement of animal welfare laws -Compliance with rabies vaccinations for dogs -Care for sick and stray animals The return of lost dogs to their owners
26 village green way
TOWN OF SOUTHWEST HARBOR PO BOX 745 SOUTHWEST HARBOR, MAINE 04679 207.244.5404 FAX: 207.244.4483 OFFICE HOURS: Monday-Friday 8:30-5